Another Egg Song

What came first?                                                                Image

I gave birth to the bird
& the bird gave birth to me
But before that
I gave birth to the bird
That in turn gave birth to me
& long ago the bird sowed the seed
From which I breed and feed and grow,
But if I hadn’t given birth to the bird
It would never have sowed the seed that it sowed.

& that bird hatched out of eternal generations of me:
I heard it told that I was older than the earth and older than the sea.

How did I hear?
A little birdy told me
Which little birdy?
The same little birdy that I gave birth to
& the one that gave birth to me.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

